Executive Board 2012 / 2013

RSA 2010 Fieldtrip

Members of the National Executive of the Rural Science Association on the 2010 AGM & South Laois Fieldtrip with members of Durrow Area Tourism on the Top of Cullahill Mountain



Honourary president

Dr Jim Phelan

Professor Jim Phelan BAgrSc, MAgrSc, PhD
Assoc. Prof. of Agribus. Ext & Rural Dev
College of Life Sciences,
School of Biology & Environmental Science

Agriculture & Food Science Centre

Belfield Dublin 4

Born County Laois Ireland, educated at St Mary's Knocbeg College and UCD. Worked in ACOT prior to Joining UCD in 1982.

Teaching areas include research methods and rural development. Served as Head of Department of Agribusiness and Rural Development from 1994 to 2003.  Appointed Dean of Agricultural Sciences 2007. Keen interest in development in Africa, particularly Tanzania and have been involved on several missions in that country.

Vice presidents:

Dr Michael Kenny NUIM            Michael Kenny, NUI Maynooth,

Lily Mulhall UCD                          Lily Mulhall, UCD,

Mary O Shaughnessy, UCC                 Mary O Shaughnessy, UCC,

Maureen Mescall                           

Maureen Mescall UCG.


Hon. chair

John Moran              John Moran BSc.  Tuber. Co Offaly.


Hon. vice chair

               Neville Armstrong,MSc. Enniskillen, Co. Fermanagh.  

Neville is currently Manager of Kesh Enterprise Co. Ltd, a social economy business in North Fermanagh working in enterprise development, tourism and rural childcare.  He is a Masters Graduate in Rural Development from Queens University, Belfast and is currently researching rural crime in the border counties in preparation for doctorate.  A former Vice Chairman of the Rural Community, Neville is married to Alison and has three children and lives on the family farm near Kesh.

Honorary Secretaries

                      Paddy Fitzpatrick BSc. Gathabawn, Co Kilkenny.


              Jim McGuire   Bailieboro. Co Cavan


Honorary Treasurer


              Kathleen Grennan, BSc Rosemount, Co. Westmeath


                      Dermot Leavy B.Sc.(2006)

 Profile P.R.O.

              Nicholas Duff. B.Sc

Previously the voice of farming programmes on LMFM Radio. A strong commitment to rural development and associated issues. A strong Macra na Feirme activist.


Assistant P.R.O.



Aidan Cruise               Aidan Cruise, Manor Kilbride, Blessington, Co Wicklow